July 30, 2015

Jeb Bush Announces First Members of Iowa Farm Team

Governor Jeb Bush today formally announced the support of a diverse group farmers and agriculture professionals from across the state of Iowa.  These first members of the Jeb 2016 ‘Iowa Farm Team’ will help tell the story of Governor Bush’s commitment to supporting production agriculture and the important role Iowa plays in bringing safe, affordable food to the world. 


“I respect the good conservative, fiscal, and moral values that characterized Jeb Bush’s leadership in Florida.”  said Cal Rozenboom of Oskaloosa.  “They represent the values I cherish as a farmer.”

“It is time we address the negative impact current policies are having on rural America and the many being left behind under current Administration policies.”  said Nancy Pellett of Atlantic.“ Jeb Bush’s plan for 4% sustained economic growth will help all Americans.  I am honored to endorse him.” 


Jeb 2016 Iowa Farm Team:


Jim and Jacque Andrew – Lifelong corn and soybean farmers and ardent conservationists.  Jacque is the immediate past Governor of Rotary District 6000, which stretches across Southern and Central Iowa.


Varel Bailey – A family farmer and recipient of the Iowa Master Farmer Award.  A former candidate for Iowa Secretary of Agriculture, he has served as the President of both the National Corn Growers Association and the Iowa Beef Improvement Association.


Tom and Judy Barrett – Operators of a century farm with corn and soybeans.  Tom is a former president of the Dallas County Beef Producers.


Lyle Borg – A member of the State Agriculture Development Board, he is a former executive at Vermeer and operates a family farm.


Amanda DeJong – Serves as Senior Policy Advisor in Government Relations and Legislation for the Iowa Corn Growers Association. She is on the Board of Directors for the Young Professionals in Agriculture.


Thomas Dorr – Dorr has a farming operation and has previously served as President and CEO of the U.S. Grains Council.  Prior to his appointment as President and CEO of the Council, Dorr served as USDA Under Secretary for Rural Development during the early 2000’s.


Thurman Gaskill – The former State Senator has also been a commissioner of both Iowa's Department of Economic Development and its Department of Natural Resources, President of the Iowa and National Corn Growers Associations, and Chairman of the United States Feed Grains Council. He also has been designated as one of Iowa’s Master Farmers.


Doug Gronau – A 40 year family farmer centered on corn and soybeans, Doug has had a lifelong interest in governmental issues and regulations.


Keith Heffernan – a retired Senior Vice President of operations and industry relations of the U.S. Grains Council.  He previously served as chief of staff for the Farm Credit Administration and USDA’s Rural Development.  He has served as assistant director for the Center of Agricultural and Rural Development at Iowa State University; director of public affairs for the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation; and served as the first executive director of the Iowa Corn Growers Association. He has been named an Iowa Master Farmer. 


Howard Hill – Past President of the National Pork Producers Council and a strategic counsel to Iowa Select Farms.  He worked for more than 20 years at Iowa State Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, where he was a leader in the eradication of pseudorabies (PRV).


Keith Hora – A long time family farmer from Washington, Iowa.  He is a former President of the Iowa and National Corn Growers Associations and recipient of the Iowa Master Farmer award.


Glen Keppy – A long time family farmer, he served as Deputy Under Secretary at FAS from 2005-2008.  He is a past president of the National Pork Producers Council and former Board Officer and Member of CHS Inc. a farmer-owned cooperative that has become one of the largest in the U.S. and a Fortune 100 company.


Karol and Rozanne King – Karol has been President of Kelly Lane Trucking since 2007 and of King Agri Sales, (Marketer of Chemicals, Fertilizer and Equipment) since 1995.  Karol also serves as chairman of board for Southwest Iowa Renewable Energy, director of American Green Gasoline, board member of the Harrison County Farm Bureau Board, and the Iowa Corn Growers board.


Jerry Mohr – A long time family farmer.  Mohr is a current Iowa Corn Growers Association Director for District 6 and Secretary/Treasurer for ICGA.  Mohr is the current chair of Iowa Corn’s Industrial Usage & Production Committee


Jim and Nancy Pellett – These family farmers have served in numerous leadership roles.  Nancy is the former Chairman of the Farm Credit Administration and served six years on the Iowa Board of Regents.  Both have been very active and served in leadership roles in the Iowa and National Cattlemen’s organizations.   


Cal Rozenboom - is a District 8 Director for the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation which consists of 10 counties in south central Iowa.  Before being elected to the Farm Bureau board he was active in the Mahaska County Farm Bureau.


Glenn and Fauzan Smith – own and operate a 1,800-acre family farm with their four children.  Fauzan is retired from the health care industry with over 33 years experience ranging from obstetrics to case management/utilization review.  Glen founded and is part owner of Smith Land Service, Co., a western Iowa farmland service company.


Harry Stine – is owner of Stine Seed the largest independent seed company in the United States.  A brilliant seed genetics entrepreneur he built one of the most genetically robust and highest-yielding soybean seeds in the industry. 


Myron Stine – started as a farm worker and worked his way up through the family company, Stine Seed, which is one of the top seed firms in the world


Charles Sukup – is the current President of Sukup Manufacturing Corporation which produces grain bins and drying equipment.  He is a top agricultural engineer, holding 7 U.S. patents and multiple awards, including being named as the American Society of Agricultural Engineers (ASAE) Mid-Central Region Young Engineer of the Year in 1987


Doran Zumbach – a leading Iowa farmer, he headed a 1994 Iowa Farm Bill Study Team to discuss subsidy realities and alternatives.  He has served both as Vice-President and President of the Iowa Corn Growers Association.

ed. bold added for readability

Quad City Times: Jeb Bush announces Iowa farm team