May 19, 2016

State's Democratic Women Leaders Join with Hillary for New Jersey to Launch NJ Women for Hillary

More than 100 of New Jersey's leading Democratic women today joined with Hillary for New Jersey to launch "NJ Women for Hillary" to highlight Hillary Clinton's commitment to protecting access to health care for women, establishing national paid family leave, passing equal pay measures, and the enthusiasm for Clinton's agenda among women, ahead of the June 7 primary.

New Jersey Women for Hillary will campaign across the state and discuss how Clinton, as president, will not only break down the barriers that hold too many families back, but also build ladders of opportunity for all Americans.

"New Jersey's women want and deserve a President who will stand up for us and fight for the values we share -- paid leave, equal pay, and defending Planned Parenthood from the Republicans' incredulous attacks. Hillary Clinton will be that President," said U.S. Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman. "She's never backed away from a fight for women's rights. And she won't back down when it comes to the issues that are important to New Jersey's women."

"Hillary has been fighting for women, children, and families her entire life," said state Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg. "From helping expand healthcare as First Lady to now over 8 million kids, fighting to guarantee paid sick leave as Senator, and making gender equity a real foreign policy priority as Secretary of State, she has the record we can count on in the White House."

"Our state and our nation simply cannot play host to a candidate in Donald Trump who puts himself above all Americans, including working women," said state Senator Nilsa Cruz-Perez. "Donald Trump doesn’t support equal pay laws for women and wants to defund Planned Parenthood. Women across this state have fought for decades to put themselves on equal footing in public service and at the workplace, and are committed to electing Hillary Clinton – the only candidate on their side.”

In forming NJ Women for Hillary, the leaders also cited Clinton's proposals to make college more affordable -- to allow more women to get the education they need to compete and succeed in today's economy -- to cap the costs of child care, and to confront the scourge of domestic violence that still threatens too many women and families.

Original members of NJ Women for Hillary are:

Bonnie Waston Coleman Congresswoman
Nilsa Cruz-Perez Senator
Sandra Cunningham Senator
Nia H. Gill Senator
Linda Greenstein Senator
Nellie Pou Senator
M. Teresa Ruiz Senator
Loretta Weinberg Senator
Annette Chaparro Assemblywoman
Joanne Downey Assemblywoman
Patricia Egan-Jones Assemblywoman
Angelica M. Jimenez Assemblywoman
Pamela Lampitt Assemblywoman
Angela V. McKnight Assemblywoman
Elizabeth Maher Muoio Assemblywoman
Eliana Pintor Marin Assemblywoman
Gabriela Mosquera Assemblywoman
Sheila Y. Oliver Assemblywoman
Annette Quijano Assemblywoman
L. Grace Spencer Assemblywoman
Shavonda Sumter Assemblywoman
Cleopatra G. Tucker Assemblywoman
Valerie Vainieri Huttle Assemblywoman
Tracy Silna Zur Bergen County Freeholder Vice Chair
Carmen Rodriguez Camden County Freeholder
Susan Shin-Angulo Camden County Freeholder
Celeste Riley Cumberland County Clerk
Darlene Barber Cumberland County Freeholder
Carol Musso Cumberland County Freeholder
Patricia Sebold Essex County Freeholder Vice President
Cynthia D. Toro Essex County Freeholder
Heather Simmons Gloucester County Freeholder
Barbara A. Netchert Hudson County Clerk
Caridad Rodriguez Hudson County Freeholder
Pamela Gardner Hudson County Register
Elaine Flynn Middlesex County Clerk
Carol Barrett Bellante Middlesex County Freeholder Deputy Director
Blanquita Valenti Middlesex County Freeholder
Mildred Scott Middlesex County Sheriff
Cassandra “Sandi" Lazzara Passaic County Freeholder
Bernice Toledo Passaic Surrogate
Joanne Rajoppi Union County Clerk
Linda Carter Union County Freeholder
Bette Jane Kowalski Union County Freeholder
Phyllis Magazzu Mayor, Berlin Twp
Terri Brunella Mayor, Brooklawn
Dana Redd Mayor, Camden
Gayle Brill Miller Mayor, Highland Park
Angela Garretson Mayor, Hillside
Maryann Wardlow Mayor, Lawnside
Betty Ann Cowling-Carson Mayor, Magnolia
Wilda Diaz Mayor, Perth Amboy
Christine Danserau Mayor, Roselle
Barbara Wallace Mayor, Washington Twp
Teresa Kelly Deputy Mayor, Buena Vista
Leslie Koppel Council President, Monroe
Maureen Bergeron Councilwoman, Barrington
Janis Keown-Blackburn Councilwoman, Belmar
Jen Nicolay Councilwoman, Belmar
Dana Burley Councilwoman, Camden
Marilyn Torres Councilwoman, Camden
Sara Lipsett Councilwoman, Cherry Hill
Melinda Kane Councilwoman, Cherry Hill
Lauren Murphy Councilwoman, Clifton
Alicia Holman Councilwoman, East Orange
Jacquelyn Johnson Councilwoman, East Orange
Quilla Talmadge Councilwoman, East Orange
Sapana Shah Councilwoman, Edison
Hazel Mueller Councilwoman, Egg Harbor City
Patricia Perkins-Auguste Councilwoman, Elizabeth
Aimee Humphreys Councilwoman, Fair Haven
Erin McElroy-Barker Councilwoman, Fanwood
Katherine Mitchell Councilwoman, Fanwood
Kimberly Francois Councilwoman, Franklin
Barbara Ronchetti Committeewoman, Hazlet
Elsie Foster-Dublin Councilwoman, Highland Park
Andrea Hyatt Councilwoman, Hillside
Diane Murray Councilwoman, Hillside
Renee Burgess Councilwoman At-Large, Irvington
October Dudley Councilwoman At-Large, Irvington
Sandra Jones Councilwoman, Irvington
Diane Coleman Councilwoman, Jersey City
Joyce Waterman Councilwoman, Jersey City
Kay Ceceri Councilwoman, Kenilworth
Rhonda Wardlow-Hurley Councilwoman, Lawnside
Cathleen M. Lewis Councilwoman, Lawrence Township
Lisa Ormon Councilwoman, Linden
Rhashonna Cosby-Hurling Councilwoman, Linden
Michele Yamakaitis Councilwoman, Linden
Gretchen Hickey Councilwoman, Linden
Robin Schlager Councilwoman, Montclair
Shanti Narra Councilwoman, North Brunswick
Zaida Polanco Councilwoman, Passaic
Diane Tolliver Councilwoman, Plainfield
Bridget Rivers Councilwoman, Plainfield
Rebecca Williams Councilwoman, Plainfield
Gloria Taylor Councilwoman, Plainfield
Tracey Brown Councilwoman, Plainfield
Judy Ward Councilwoman, Pleasantville
Jennifer Wenson-Maier Councilwoman, Rahway
Joanna Miles Councilwoman, Rahway
Kim Shaw Councilwoman, Roselle
Andrea Staten Councilwoman, Roselle
Rose Checchio Councilwoman, Scotch Plains
Colleen Gialanella Councilwoman, Scotch Plains
Jennifer McQuaid Councilwoman, Somerdale
Suzette Cavadas Committeewoman, Union
Veronica Hedgepath Councilwoman, Victory Gardens
Alison H. Miller Councilwoman, West Windsor
Ayesha Krishnan Hamilton Councilwoman, West Windsor
Margaret McManus Commissioner, Winfield
Evelyn Leverett Committeewoman, Winslow Twp
Rita Pascrell Councilwoman, Woodland Park


For Immediate Release, May 19, 2016