p2016 header graphic

January 5, 2016

Contact: Rania Batrice

Sanders Campaign Announces Labor for Bernie Iowa Leadership Team

DES MOINES, Iowa -- U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders’ Iowa campaign announced the formation of their statewide organized labor team. Iowa’s Labor for Bernie group is comprised of labor leaders, activists, volunteers, and community members. The state’s Labor for Bernie members applauded Sanders’ consistent record of fighting for working families and his campaign to take on the corrupt political system that is rigging the economy against workers.

“I support Bernie Sanders for President because my kids shouldn’t be shackled by student loans like their old man. I support Bernie because I worry that if my wife’s cancer comes back the for-profit insurance company will deny her care. We need to get money out of politics so these problems can be solved; Bernie will be the President to solve them.”

--Jeremy Dumkrieger, National Education Association (NEA) member

“I support Bernie Sanders because his record has shown he supports middle class working families more than any other candidate.”

--Jenny Arnold, American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Local 12 Member

“I’m a union worker, small business owner, father and grandfather. I’m voting to elect Bernie Sanders as our next President for reasons important to each of those roles. I feel Senator Sanders’ policies would do the most to lift up labor and locally owned businesses and restore balance to an economy dangerously corrupted by the political contributions of Wall Street speculators, bankers and multinational corporations. He’s for massive spending on public works to create jobs, rebuild our infrastructure, and help save the planet from climate change brought on by our overextended dependency on fossil fuels.”

--Jay Saxon, United Steelworkers (USW) Local 105 Political Coordinator

“When Bernie Sanders heard that the workers at Ingredion in Cedar Rapids were in a struggle to reach a decent and respectful contract, he came to our picket line without hesitation or personal political expectation. He came to add his voice and his support to the cause of the American worker. Bernie understands that building a middle class is more than photo ops. He’s genuine and the real deal. I ask all workers to be B.R.A.V.E. - Bold, Revolutionize, Act, Vote, and Elect Bernie Sanders.”

--Chris Eby, Former President of Bakery, Confectionery, Tobacco Workers & Grain Millers International Union (BCTGM) Local 100g

The full list of names of Sanders’ Iowa Labor Leadership Committee can be found below:

  • Steve Abbott, Communication Workers of America (CWA), State Council President (Blackhawk)

  • Jenny Arnold, American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees (AFSCME) Local 12 (Johnson)

  • Stephanie Bails, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 1634, Vice-President (Johnson)

  • Mike Bates, American Postal Workers Union (APWU) DMI Local 44, President (Polk)

  • Shon Brakey, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen (BLET) Local 163 (Clinton)

  • Sheilia Burrage, CWA Local 7110 (Scott)

  • Robbie Cale, United Food and Commercial Workers (UFCW) Local 617, Vice-President (Lee)

  • Dustin Chase, IBEW Local 405, Board Member (Johnson)

  • Bruce Clark, APWU, State President (Dubuque)

  • Mark Cottrell, Laborers International Union of North America (LIUNA) Local 43, Field Rep (Retired) (Worth)

  • Linda DeLaughter, United Electrical Workers (UE) Local 893 (retired) (Clay)

  • Doug Devore, United Brotherhood of Carpenters (Johnson)

  • Kris Dixon, National Nurses United (NNU) (Polk)

  • Sandy Doerring, Service Employees International Union (SEIU) Local 199, Board Member (Polk)

  • Jeremy Dumkrieger, National Education Association (NEA) (Woodbury)

  • Carrie Duncan, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers (IAMAW), Chief Steward, Local 1010 (Henry)   

  • Chris Eby, Bakery, Confectionary, Tobacco Workers & Grain Millers (BCTGM) Local 100g, former President (Linn)                                

  • Matt Eimer, BLET Local 152, President (Lee)

  • Deanne Enderlee, Iowa State Education Association (ISEA), State Executive Board Member (Lee)

  • Dan Gosa, Heat & Frost Insulators Local 81 (Scott)

  • Ross Grooters, BLET Division 778, Legislative Representative (Polk)

  • Tom Kinn, National Association of Letter Carriers (NALC) Local 512, President (Blackhawk)

  • Rich Kurtenbach, IBEW Local 288 (Blackhawk)

  • Jeff Kurtz, BLET, former State Legislative Board Chair (Lee)

  • Chris Laursen, United Auto Workers (UAW) Local 74 (Wapello)

  • Tracy Leone, AFL-CIO WIN Organizer (Scott)

  • Steven Lucas, Plumbers and Fitters of East Central Iowa Local 125 (Retired) (Benton)

  • Jim Marshall, Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 779 (Woodbury)

  • Vic McCuen, NALC Local 352, President (Polk)

  • John McNeil, United Brotherhood of Carpenters (Pottawattamie)

  • Mike Miller, NALC Local 352 (retired) (Adams)

  • Cindy O’Meara, IBEW Local 1632, President (Linn)

  • Kay Pence, CWA Representative (Scott)

  • Joe Pundzak, Central Iowa Building and Construction Trades Council, former Executive Director (Boone)

  • Mark Randall, BCTGM Local 10g, President (Linn)

  • Molly Regan, CWA (Scott)

  • Mark Rocha, CWA Local 7102, Chief Steward (Polk)

  • Phil Sanchez, International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Union Steward (Cerro Gordo)

  • Jay Saxon, United Steelworkers Local 105, Political Coordinator (Clinton)