Sparta Schools	Α		В		
OFFICIAL BALLOT					
		General Election			

General Election
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
Kent County, Michigan
Algoma Township, Precinct 5 I

Algoma Township, Precinct 5 B							
PARTISAN SECTION	STATE BOARDS	}	COUNTY				
STRAIGHT PARTY TICKET Vote for not more than 1	BOARD OF EDUCAT	MEMBER OF THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION Vote for not more than 2		SHERIFF Vote for not more than 1			
Republican Party	Tom McMillin Republican Nikki Snyde	$\frac{1}{r}$	Lawrence A. Stelma Republican Michael B. Scruggs	0			
Democratic Democratic	Republication   Republication   Ish Ahmed	i O	Democratic				
Democratic Party	Democration John Austin	1	CLERK/REGISTER OF DEE	EDS.			
Libertarian	Democration Scotty Boman		Vote for not more than 1	-50			
Libertarian Party	Libertaria Bill Hal Libertaria	I	Lisa Posthumus Lyons Republican				
U.S. Taxpayers	Karen Adams U.S. Taxpayer	3	Chris Reader Democratic				
TAXPAYES Party	Douglas Levesque U.S. Taxpayer	9	James Lewis Libertarian	$\bigcirc$			
Green	Derek M. Grigsby Gree			$\bigcirc$			
Green Party Party	Sherry A. Wells Gree	<u>1                                    </u>	TREASURER Vote for not more than 1				
Natural Law Party	Mary Anne Hering Working Class		Kenneth D. Parrish				
WORKING CLASS PARTY			Republican  Jody Betten  Democratic				
Party	REGENT OF THE UNIVI	ERSITY		$\bigcirc$			
PRESIDENTIAL	Vote for not more that		DRAIN COMMISSIONEF Vote for not more than 1	7			
ELECTORS OF PRESIDENT AND VICE-PRESIDENT	Carl Meyers Republica Ron Weise	<u>1                                    </u>	Ken Yonker				
OF THE UNITED STATES  Vote for not more than 1	Republica Laurence B. Deitcl	$\frac{1}{1}$	Republican  Rachel Hood	$\frac{\bigcirc}{\bigcirc}$			
Donald J. Trump	Democrati	$\sim$	Democratic				
Michael R. Pence Republican	Democrati  James Lewis Hudle	$\sim$	COUNTY COMMISSIONE	 :D			
Hillary Clinton	Libertaria	)	2nd DISTRICT Vote for not more than 1	.n			
Tim Kaine Democratic	Libertaria Audra Driscol	I	Thomas B. Antor				
Gary Johnson	U.S. Taxpayer	r	Republican  Jerry D. Berta				
<b>Bill Weld</b> Libertarian	U.S. Taxpayers  Latham Redding  Gree		Democratic				
Darrell L. Castle	Bridgette Abraham-Guzman Natural Lav	1	TOWNSHIP				
Scott N. Bradley U.S. Taxpayers	rvatural Lav		SUPERVISOR				
Jill Stein Ajamu Baraka			ALGOMA TOWNSHIP  Vote for not more than 1				
Green	TRUSTEE OF MICHI		Kevin Green Republican	$\bigcirc$			
Emidio Mimi Soltysik Angela Nicole Walker	STATE UNIVERSITY Vote for not more than	1 2		$\bigcirc$			
Natural Law	William Deary Republica	1	CLERK ALGOMA TOWNSHIP				
	Dan Kelly Republical	$1 - \frac{1}{2}$	Vote for not more than 1				
CONGRESSIONAL	Dianne Byrun  Democrati  Diann Woodard		<b>Judy Bigney</b> Republican				
REPRESENTATIVE IN CONGRE 3rd DISTRICT	SS Diann Woodard  Democrati  Justin Burns	$\sim$		$\bigcirc$			
Vote for not more than 1  Justin Amash	Libertarial  Gregory Scott Stempfle	<u> </u>	TREASURER ALGOMA TOWNSHIP				
Republican  Douglas Smith	Libertaria Angela Grand		Vote for not more than 1  Deborah Ellenwood				
Democratic Ted Gerrard	U.S. Taxpayer		Republican				
U.S. Taxpayers	Green		TRUSTEE				
LEGISLATIVE			ALGOMA TOWNSHIP Vote for not more than 4				
REPRESENTATIVE IN STATE			Gordon L. Pickerd Republican				
LEGISLATURE 74th DISTRICT	STATE UNIVERSITY Vote for not more than		James Powell Republican				
Vote for not more than 1	Michael J. Busuito Republica		Tom Ungrey Republican				
Rob VerHeulen Republican	Kimberly Shmina Republica	<b>a</b>	Bob Wilson Republican				
Robin Bigger Democratic	Yvette McElroy Anderson Democration						
Bill Gelineau Libertarian	Mark Gaffner Democrati	<u>/</u>					
	Bhagwan Dashairya Libertaria	<u>1                                    </u>		$\bigcirc$			
	Al Sede Libertaria	<u>1                                    </u>					
	Robert Gale U.S. Taxpayer	$\subseteq$	NONPARTISAN SECTIO	N			
	Marc Joseph Sosnowsk U.S. Taxpayers Margaret Guttshal	<u> </u>	JUDICIAL				
	Gree Fran Sho	<u>1                                    </u>	JUSTICE OF SUPREME CO  Vote for not more than 1	URT			
	Green Wendy Goosser		Doug Dern				
	Natural Lav	<u>, )</u>	Frank Szymanski				
			David Viviano				
	COUNTY		Justice of Supreme Court				
	PROSECUTING ATTO						
	Vote for not more than						
	Chris Becke Republica						
	Alida J. Bryan Democrati	t 🔘					
		, <u>, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , </u>					
	Α	В	Typ:01 Seq:0013 Spl:02	C			

NONPARTISAN SECTION - continued	PROPOSAL SECTION	
	COUNTY	
JUDICIAL  JUSTICE OF SUPREME COURT	COUNTY PROPOSAL I	
INCUMBENT POSITION Partial Term Ending 01/01/2019 Vote for not more than 1	JOHN BALL ZOO AND GRAND RAPIDS PUBLIC MUSEUM MILLAGE	
Joan Larsen Justice of Supreme Court Kerry L. Morgan	For the purpose of establishing dedicated funding for the care of animals and artifacts, repair and improvement of exhibits, and	
Deborah Thomas	providing enhanced educational programs, shall the total limitation on the amount of taxes which	
JUDGE OF COURT OF APPEALS 3RD DISTRICT INCUMBENT POSITION	may be assessed against all taxable property in Kent County be increased by 0.44 mill (\$0.44 on each \$1,000 of taxable value)	
Vote for not more than 2  Joel P. Hoekstra	on all Real and Personal Property subject to taxation for the period 2016 through 2025, inclusive,	
Judge of Court of Appeals  David H. Sawyer  Judge of Court of Appeals	which would be allocated equally to the John Ball Zoo and the Grand Rapids Public Museum?	
	The amount raised by the levy in the first year is estimated at \$9,292,644.	
JUDGE OF CIRCUIT COURT 17TH CIRCUIT INCUMBENT POSITION Vote for not more than 2	To the extent permitted by law, a portion of the revenues from this millage will be captured by local authorities for authorized	
Paul J. Denenfeld Judge of Circuit Court	purposes. The total amount of captured tax increment revenues	
George Jay Quist Judge of Circuit Court	from such millage in the first calendar year of the levy is estimated at \$414,070.26. The	
	tax increment authorities in Kent County, capturing a portion of this	
JUDGE OF CIRCUIT COURT	tax levy, include the following: the Downtown Development	
17TH CIRCUIT NON-INCUMBENT POSITION Vote for not more than 1	Authorities of the Cities of Cedar Springs, Grand Rapids, Grandville, Lowell, Rockford,	
Curt Benson	Walker, and Wyoming, the Charter Township of Cascade,	
Joe Rossi	and the Villages of Kent City and Sparta; the Brownfield Redevelopment Authorities of	
	Grand Rapids, Grandville, Kentwood, Rockford, Walker,	
JUDGE OF CIRCUIT COURT 17TH CIRCUIT	Wyoming; and the Monroe North Tax Increment Financing	
NEW JUDGESHIP  Vote for not more than 1	Authority and SmartZone Local Development Finance Authority of	
Deborah L. McNabb	the City of Grand Rapids.	
Benjamin J. Symko	YES 🔾	*
	NO C	
JUDGE OF PROBATE COURT INCUMBENT POSITION Vote for not more than 1	PROPOSAL II ENHANCED 9-1-1 PUBLIC SAFETY DISPATCH	
Terence J. Ackert Judge of Probate Court	To provide dedicated funding to pay for an enhanced 9-1-1 Public Safety Dispatch system including	
COMMUNITY COLLEGE	(a) technology upgrades (including communication towers	
BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEMBER GRAND RAPIDS COMMUNITY COLLEGE Vote for not more than 3	and new equipment for dispatch and existing police, fire, and public safety agencies), and (b) annual funding for fire dispatch as provided in the county 9-1-1	
David Koetje	service plan, shall Kent County be authorized to assess an	
C. J. Shroll	additional \$0.70 monthly surcharge on communication	
Keith M. Wakefield  Kenyatta Brame	service suppliers' billings to service users within Kent County	
Kathleen Bruinsma	for the period beginning July 1, 2017 and continuing through	
	June 30, 2036? If approved, the additional surcharge would raise an estimated \$4,500,000 per	
	year.	
	YES O	
BOARD MEMBER	NO 🔾	
SPARTA AREA SCHOOLS Vote for not more than 2  Warren Hill		
Mark Alster		
Marybeth Dame		
D D	E	Typ:01 Seq:0013 Spl:02

D

Е

<del>-</del>