January 24, 2014

RNC Elects 2016 Convention Site Selection Committee

WASHINGTON – The Republican National Committee (RNC) today elected members of the 2016 Convention Site Selection Committee:
Arkansas National Committeeman Jonathan Barnett
Mississippi National Committeewoman Jeanne Luckey
Alternate Georgia National Committeewoman Linda Herren

Washington DC National Committeewoman Jill Homan
New Hampshire National Committeeman Steve Duprey
Alternate Pennsylvania National Committeewoman Christine Toretti

Iowa National Committeeman Steve Scheffler
North Dakota National Committeewoman Sandy Boehler
Alternate Indiana National Committeeman John Hammond

Idaho National Committeeman Damond Watkins
Montana National Committeewoman Betti Hill
Alternate California National Committeeman Shawn Steel
In accordance with RNC Rule 10(a)(4), members from each of the four regions—Western, Midwestern, Northeastern, and Southern—elected two members and an alternate to represent their regions on the committee. On Tuesday, Chairman Reince Priebus announced Enid Mickelsen as chairman of the committee. The Site Selection Committee is tasked with investigating potential sites for the next national convention and recommending a site to the RNC for selection.
“These individuals have an important task ahead of them: choosing the best place for our party to formally introduce our 2016 nominee to the country, to conduct important party business, and to share our party’s message of freedom and opportunity,” said RNC Chairman Reince Priebus.
“I look forward to beginning this process and to receiving input from all of our Site Selection Committee members. I’m confident this great team, under the leadership of Enid Mickelsen, will carefully consider all the great options and ensure we have a great convention site for 2016.”