Maryland Democratic Party

For Immediate Release: 
May 9, 2016

For More Information: 
Jazzmen S. Knoderer


Annapolis, MD - The Maryland Democratic Party today announced the allocation of district-level delegate winners ahead of this summer’s Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia. 

“We appreciate everyone on the ballot and we extend our sincere congratulations to the delegate winners,” said Chairman Bruce Poole. “Our delegation represents the diversity, enthusiasm, and energy of Maryland Democrats. The primary election energized our Party and we will carry that momentum to the convention and into the election in November.”

District-level delegate candidates ran as pledged supporters of either Senator Hillary Clinton or Senator Bernie Sanders. The delegate apportionment was determined by the results of Maryland’s primary, held April 26. 

The pledged Party Leaders and Elected Officials (PLEO) and at-large delegates will be elected at the Maryland Democratic Party’s May 21 State Central Committee meeting. The deadline to apply as an at-large or PLEO delegate is Tuesday, May 17, by 5 p.m.    

Congressional District Candidate: Bernie Sanders Candidate: Hillary Clinton
District 1 Conner Callahan
Amanda Jackson
Michael L. Pullen
Cheryl Everman
Betty Weller
William Welsh

District 2 Frank Blatt
Linda Dorsey-Walker
Cheryl Glenn
Vicki Almond
Cathy Bevins
Benjamin Brooks
Stephen Lafferty
District 3 Barbara Friedland
Keanuu Smith-Brown
Joan Taylor
Lee Finney
Guy Guzzone
Shelly Hettleman
Michael Miller
C.A. Cory Ruppersberger IV
District 4 Julian Ivey
Melody Jones
Edward Terry
Angela Alsobrooks
Erek Barron
Aisha Braveboy
Cynthia Collins
Carolyn J.B. Howard
Maurice Simpson Jr.
Anthony Woods
District 5 Darius Baxter
Colin Byrd
Jocelyn Price
Tim Adams
Amanda Cross
Marie Duffield
Mel Franklin
Edith Patterson
Jay Walker
District 6 Christopher Espinosa
Suzi Kaplan
Elizabeth Landry
Jody Oliver
Elizabeth Paul
Craig Rice
Robin Summerfield
District 7 Maysa Elsheikh
Julian Jones
Gass Paul
Calvin Ball
Karenthia Barber
Lisa Brown
Fred Mason
Kweisi Mfume
Courtney Watson
District 8 Valerie Ervin
Edward Fischman
Kendra Ziegler
Susan Esserman
Nancy Floreen
David Goodfriend
George Leventhal
Anthony Reardon

                                                                                    # # #

For Immediate Release: 
May 23, 2016

For More Information:
Jazzmen S. Knoderer


Annapolis, MD – The Maryland Democratic Party today announced the allocation of delegates and alternates for the Democratic National Convention this summer in Philadelphia. Delegates were allocated based on the statewide percentage of votes each candidate won in Maryland’s primary, held April 26.

“Our delegates and alternates reflect the diversity and strength of our party and our state,” said Maryland Democratic Party Chair Bruce Poole. “The primary election energized Democrats, and we are united in our commitment to fighting for opportunity for all Marylanders. We look forward to working with everyone – Secretary Clinton supporters and Senator Sanders supporters alike – to keep Maryland blue in 2016.” 

Maryland DNC members for the 2016-2020 term were elected during the Maryland Democratic Party’s State Central Committee Meeting at Martin’s West, on May 21. The newly-elected members will represent all Marylanders by ensuring that the concerns of our state are elevated within the national party. 

Maryland DNC Members 2016 – 2020 Term

Glen Middleton Bel Leong-Hong
Greg Pecoraro Yvette Lewis

Pledged Party Leaders and Elected Official Delegates (10)

County Executive Rushern Baker III Clinton Senator Catherine Pugh Clinton
Comptroller Peter Franchot Clinton MCDCC Member Johntel Green Sanders
County Executive Kevin Kamenetz Clinton Delegate Ana Sol Gutierrez Sanders
Senator Susan Lee Clinton Senator Paul Pinsky Sanders
County Executive Ike Leggett Clinton Delegate Jimmy Tarlau Sanders

Pledged At-Large Delegates (21)

Secretary Hillary Clinton

Senator Bernie Sanders

Donna Edwards

Suchitra Balachandran

Patricia Fenn

Rev. Jamal Bryant

Dylan Goldberg

J. Darrell Carrington

Amna Hashmi

Delegate Jill Carter

Loretta Johnson

Sandra Falwell

Robert Jones

Roxie Herbekian

Joseph Kitchen

Benjamin Jealous

Delegate Brooke Lierman

Martha McKenna

Merrick Moise

Maya Rockeymoore Cummings

Wayne Rogers

Delegate Carlo Sanchez

Lynn Venetoulis

Pledged At-Large Alternates (8)

Register of Wills, Byron Macfarlane Clinton
Jennifer Rodriguez Clinton
Councilwoman Karen Toles Clinton
Chirag Vasavda Clinton
Lucinda-Marie Ware Clinton
Gabe Cazares Sanders
Virginia Kase Sanders
Robert Muehlenkamp Sanders

                                                     #             #             #