Montana Democratic Party
approx. June 12, 2016

Montana Democrats name 21 delegates to DNC

HELENA -- All corners of Montana will be well represented at the Democratic National Convention in July next month, after a successful second day of platform discussions and delegate selection in Helena this weekend.

The Montana Democratic Party State Convention wrapped up activities Saturday night with the election of 21 delegates – 10 for Hillary Clinton and 11 for Bernie Sanders – who will represent the state and Democratic voters well July 25 – July 28.

“After a great day on Friday discussing the issues and values that we (Montana Democrats) uphold, it was so inspiring to watch the way delegates from all over the state put those words into action by selecting a diverse group of individuals who will represent us in Philadelphia,” said Nancy Keenan, executive director of the Montana Democratic Party. “Supporters of Sen. Sanders and supporters of Sec. Clinton all had the opportunity to meet, share their views, and elect delegates who they feel will best represent their respective candidates and the Montana Democratic Party.”

 Delegates to the convention were selected in three different categories: by district (east and west, 15 delegates), at-large (4 delegates) or as a party leader or elected official (2 delegates). Additionally, delegates were apportioned to each Presidential candidate based on the total percentage of votes they received in the state.

Following is the list of candidates by category and Presidential candidate, as well as the delegates' hometown: 

Clinton Eastern MT delegates:
Wanda Grinde, Billings
Carl Donovan, Great Falls
Monica Robinson, Bozeman 

Clinton Western MT delegates:
George Kipp III, Heart Butte
Nick Lockridge, Helena
Carol Williams, Missoula
Caryn Kallay, CSKT

Sanders Eastern MT delegates:
Jennifer Merecki, Billings
Sue Frazier, Manhattan
Alex Lei, Bozeman
Andy Boyd, Bozeman

Sanders Western MT delegates:
Donovan Hawk, Butte
Teresa Jacobs, Missoula
Bill Geer, Lolo
Debbie Orozco, Arlee 

Clinton at-large delegates:
Barnett G. Sporkin-Morrison, Choteau
Stacie Anderson, Missoula

Clinton PLEO (party leader/elected official)
Christine Kaufmann, Helena

Sanders at-large delegates:
Sharon Peregoy, Crow Agency
Anita Green, Missoula

Sanders PLEO (party leader/elected official)
Steve Wells, Missoula 

Jorge Quintana, Helena, national committeeman
Jean Lemire Dahlman, Forsyth, national committeewoman
Jim Larson, Billings, party chairman
Jacquie Helt, Helena, vice party chairwoman
Gov. Steve Bullock
U.S. Sen. Jon Tester