p2016 header graphic

News Release Catherine Frazier
April 11, 2016

Cruz Announces Backing of 50 California Republican Elected Officials

Current and former state and local officeholders signal strong support for Ted Cruz

IRVINE, CA – With momentum surging from recent victories across four states, today the Cruz for President campaign announced the endorsement of 50 current and former California Republican state and local elected officials.  
"I'm honored to receive the support of Republican leaders who are working hard to put conservative ideas into action in California," said Cruz. "Conservatives are continuing to unite behind our campaign to win the Republican nomination and defeat Hillary Clinton in November, and the people of California will be critical to our success."
The following current and former state and local government officials have endorsed Ted Cruz for President:

Current and Former State Officials: 
Diane Harkey, Board of Equalization
Ted Gaines, State Senator
Marie Waldron, Assemblywoman
Travis Allen, Assemblyman
Brian Jones, Assemblyman
Don Wagner, Assemblyman
Jay Obernolte, Assemblyman
Jim Battin,  Former State Senator
Dennis Hollingsworth, Former State Senate Republican Leader
Martin Garrick, Former Assembly Republican Leader
Scott Baugh, Former Assembly Republican Leader
Orange County Officials: 
Tony Beall, Rancho Santa Margarita Mayor
Ryan Bent, Yorba Linda Library Commissioner
Alexandria Coronado, former school board member
Alexia Deligianni-Brydges, Orange Unified School Board
Robert Hammond, Orange County Board of Education President
Steven Knoblock, former San Clemente City Councilman
Mark McCurdy, Fountain Valley City Councilman
Mike Munzig, Aliso Viejo City Council
Shawn Nelson, Orange County Supervisor
Scott Peotter, Newport Beach City Council
Dwight Robinson, Lake Forest City Council
Michelle Steel, Orange County Supervisor
Mike Vaughn, Rancho Santa Margarita City Council
San Diego County Officials: 
Kristine Alessio, La Mesa City Council
Bill Baber, La Mesa Vice Mayor
Richard Bailey, Coronado City Council
David Chong, La Mesa Spring Valley School Board
Gary Felien, former Oceanside City Councilman
Ed Gallo, Escondido City Council
Robert "Camo" E. Gleisberg, Oceanside School Board
Jan Goldsmith, San Diego City Attorney
Kristal Jabara, San Marcos City Council
Rebecca Jones, San Marcos Vice Mayor
Jim Kelly, Grossmont Union High School District
Christi Knight, Escondido High School District
Ginger Marshall, Solana Beach City Council
John McCann, Chula Vista City Council
Bob McClellan, El Cajon City Council
Guy McWhirter, La Mesa City Council
Mike Morasco, Escondido Vice Mayor
Mark Muir, Encinitas City Council
Maureen "Mo" Muir, San Dieguito High School Board
Mark Packard, Carlsbad City Council
Amanda Rigby, Vista Deputy Mayor
Jean Roesch, former Southwestern Community College District Board Member
Mark Robak, Otay Water District
Robert Shield, Grossmont Union High School District
Randy Voepel, Santee Mayor
Bill Wells, El Cajon Mayor
Rick Winet, La Mesa School Board President

Previously Announced:
Tom McClintock, Congressman
Dana Rohrabacher, Congressman
Matthew Harper, Assemblyman
Shannon Grove, Assemblywoman
Paid for by Cruz for President