p2016 header graphic

CONTACT: Kristin Sosanie

O’Malley for Iowa Announces 24 New Endorsements, Wins Majority of Polk County Democratic Club Leaders

Des Moines -- Today, O’Malley for Iowa announced 24 new endorsements, locking in support from the leadership of the majority of Democratic groups in Polk County. Polk is the largest county in Iowa and an important stronghold for democratic candidates.
Building on last month’s rollout of 17 party leaders, O’Malley received support today from 7 more elected officials, 5 more current and former County Party leaders, and community leaders from around the state who are looking for an executive who not only holds progressive values but also has a record of getting things done on them.

The majority of the Democratic club leaders in Polk County have endorsed Martin O’Malley. Today’s announcement includes the heads of the South Side Des Moines Democrats, East Side Des Moines Democrats, Central Iowa Democrats, and Ankeny Area Democrats.

O’Malley has made Iowa central to his campaign, focusing on bold ideas and neighbor-to-neighbor conversations, to build the kind of grassroots effort best suited to the Iowa caucuses. This past weekend, O’Malley for Iowa held a weekend of action where supporters made tens of thousands of phone calls.  Today, the campaign built on that success by announcing the support of 24 more activists and community leaders who know how to organize for the caucuses and will serve as a vital resource as the campaign progresses this fall.

Today, these Iowa leaders officially endorsed Martin O’Malley for President of the United States:

•         Charlie McConkey, Iowa State Representative

•         Steven Gast, Mayor of Maxwell

•         Joel Greer, Marshalltown City Councilor

•         Phil Meier, Boone County Auditor

•         Kelley Bennett, Assistant Jasper County Attorney

•         Sandra Frericks, Blue Grass City Councilor

•         Matt Dalby, Ottumwa City Councilor

•         Gary Schmidt, Polk County Activist

•         Karl Schilling, Polk County Activist

•         Heather Ryan, Polk County Activist

•         Mitch Henry, Polk County Activist

•         Lu Ann Pedrick, Former DNC Rules Committee Member  and Polk County Activist

•         Cal Woods, Former Des Moines Area News Anchor and Polk County Activist

•         Scott Heldt, Dallas County Activist and candidate for State House

•         Bob Petrzelka, Vice Chair Henry County Democrats

•         Bryan Johnson, Vice Chair of Mahaska County Democrats

•         Frank Rottinghaus, Floyd County Treasurer

•         Rick Mullin, Former Woodbury County Chair

•         Jon Heitland , Former Hardin County Chair and 2008 Electoral College Elector

•         Jim West, Labor Activist and SEIU Member

•         Jerry Hageman, CWA Local 7108 Treasurer

•         Ed Brown, Former Davenport Alderman

•         Sam Gray, Candidate for State Representative

•         Alexander Mundell, Co-Chair Grinnell College Democrats