p2016 header graphic

October 27, 2015


Des Moines -Today, following Governor O’Malley’s passionate speech to Iowa Democrats at the Jefferson-Jackson Dinner that has been called a “breakout moment,” O’Malley for Iowa announced 26 new Iowa endorsements. The new endorsements include a state Senator, Representative, two mayors and several activists who had previously supported Vice President Joe Biden.

These endorsements add to the 41 previously announced Iowa endorsements from sitting legislators, county chairs, community leaders and activists who are vital to organizing in a caucus campaign. O’Malley has made Iowa central to his campaign, focusing on bold ideas and neighbor-to-neighbor conversations, to build the kind of grassroots effort best suited to the Iowa caucuses.

Today, these Iowa leaders officially endorsed Martin O’Malley for President of the United States:

Kevin Kinney, State Senator
Bruce Bearinger, State Representative
Bruce Hunter, State Representative
Peggy Sherrets, Mayor of Oelwein
Dan Howard, Mayor of Maynard
Sharon Acuff, Pilot Mound City Councilwoman
Rick Howard, Maynard City Council Member
Art Behn, Dallas County Chair
Nancy Bobo, Polk County Activist
Ken Kahl, Crawford County Vice Chair
Sara Riley, Linn County Activist
Nancy Riley, Linn County Activist
Peter Riley, Linn County Activist
Larry Peterson, Former Crawford County Chair
Morgan Brittain, Former President of the College and Young Democrats of Iowa
Bob Beisch, Former Wapello County Chair
Jan Evans, Marion County Central Committee Member
Gregory Guelcher, Woodbury County Vice Chair
Cheryl Scherr, Marion County Vice Chair
Tom Corrieri, Story County Central Committee Treasurer
Richard Machacek, DNC superdelegate for Obama in ’08; Fmr Buchanan County Dems Chair
Kevin Powell, Starmont Community School District Board Member
Larry Stewart, Former President Charles City Chamber of Commerce
Karl Knock, Union County Activist
Sharon Holle, Scott County Activist
Rob Hubler, Former Iowa Congressional Candidate and Fairfield County Activist