March 3, 2014 

RNC Launches National Advisory Councils

WASHINGTON – Today, the Republican National Committee launched three National Advisory Councils to strengthen ties with minority communities and expand engagement efforts across the country: the African American Advisory Council, the Asian Pacific American Advisory Council, and the Hispanic Advisory Council.

The National Advisory Councils are part of the RNC’s unprecedented commitment to engage voters year-round to build a lasting foundation for future campaigns. Council members will lend their expertise in developing better, more effective engagement strategies between the RNC and state parties and communities across the country. In addition to providing advice and counsel to RNC leadership and staff, National Advisory Council members will attend community events, speak with grassroots activists nationwide, and attend RNC meetings. To complement the work of the three National Advisory Councils, the RNC is working with state parties to form state advisory councils as well. 
“I want to ensure the Republican Party is building sincere relationships in every community across the country, and our advisory councils will help make that a reality,” said RNC Chairman Reince Priebus. “They are all leaders in their communities, and each council member brings a unique perspective. I look forward to working with them to grow the Republican Party.”
“We look forward to the councils’ guidance as we continue to build the RNC’s engagement efforts,” said RNC Co-Chairman Sharon Day. “We welcome their input and advice as we take our message to diverse communities throughout our nation.”
The RNC National Advisory Council Members include:
 African American Advisory Council
Renee Amoore, Pennsylvania
Reverend A.R. Bernard, New York
Hon. John Kenneth Blackwell, Ohio
Robert Brown, North Carolina
State Representative Stefani Carter, Texas
Bishop Ira Combs, Michigan
State Senator Elbert Guillory, Louisiana
State Representative Mike Hill, Florida
Hon. Alphonso Jackson, New York
Mayor Mia Love, Utah
County Auditor Clarence Mingo, Ohio
Camilla Moore, Georgia
Roxanne Petteway, California
U.S. Senator Tim Scott, South Carolina
State Representative Eric “Scott” Turner, Texas
George Williams, Alabama
Commissioner Michael Williams, Texas
Bob Woodson, Washington, DC
Asian Pacific American Advisory Council
Puneet Ahluwalia, Virginia
Hon. Steve Austria, Ohio
Thomas Evers Blaz, Virginia
Hon. Anh “Joseph” Cao, Louisiana
Hon. Elaine L. Chao, Kentucky
Jim Cheng, Virginia
David B. Cohen, California
Vellie Dietrich-Hall, Virginia
Hon. Charles Djou, Hawaii
John Quoc Duong, California
Jinyoung Lee, Washington
Mayor Allan Fung, Rhode Island
Houen Hach, Minnesota
State Representative Tony Hwang, Connecticut
Suhail Khan, Washington, DC
KV Kumar, California
Ajay Kuntamukkala, Maryland
Charlie Moua, California
Eduardo “Ed” Navarra, Michigan
State Representative Byung Jin “BJ” Pak, Georgia
Cecilia Cortez Ramos, California
Hon. Patricia Saiki, Hawaii
Ambassador Sichan Siv, Texas
Vice-Chair Michelle Park Steel, California
Van Tran, California
Marina Tse, Ph.D., California
Baoky Vu, Georgia
Harry Walia, Florida
Charles Pei Wang, New York
Martha J. Wong, Texas
Pablo Wong, California 
Hispanic Advisory Council
Jovita Carranza, Illinois
Congressman Mario Diaz-Balart, Florida
Hon. Luis Fortuño, Puerto Rico
Jose Fuentes-Agostini, Puerto Rico
Hon. Alberto Gonzalez, Texas
Hon. Carlos Gutierrez, Washington, DC
Congressman Raúl Labrador, Idaho
Hon. Rosario Marin, California
Jerry Natividad, Colorado
Mario Rodriguez, California
Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, Florida
U.S. Senator Marco Rubio, Florida
Governor Brian Sandoval, Nevada
Theresa Speake, Virginia