August 8, 2014

RNC Elects 2016 Debate Committee

WASHINGTON – The Republican National Committee (RNC) announced today the members of the 2016 Debate Committee.


1.      Peggy Lambert, National Committeewoman, for Tennessee

2.      Randy Evans, National Committeeman, for Georgia

3.      Henry Barbour, National Committeeman, for Mississippi


1.      Mary Buestrin, National Committeewoman, for Wisconsin

2.      Bob Bennett, National Committeeman, for Ohio

3.      Helen Van Etten, National Committeewoman, for Kansas

Northeast Region

1.     Juliana Bergeron, National Committeewoman, for New Hampshire

2.     Ron Kaufman, National Committeeman, for Massachusetts

3.     Rob Gleason, State Chairman, for Pennsylvania

4.     Steve Duprey, National Committeeman, for New Hampshire, who will be chairman of the committee

Western Region:

1.     Solomon Yue, National Committeeman, for Oregon

2.     Jeff Kent, National Committeeman, for Washington

3.     Susan Hutchison, State Chairman, for Washington

In May, the RNC Standing Committee on Rules created a standing committee to determine when, where and on what networks GOP presidential debates will take place. The Debate Committee will be tasked with establishing a system of presidential primary debates that inform voters and give candidates a fair hearing.

“The members of the Debate Committee have an important task ahead of them. They will be responsible for implementing the new GOP debate policies in the 2016 presidential election. I have no doubt the committee, under the leadership of Steve Duprey, will give thoughtful consideration for each of the debate elements,” said RNC Chairman Reince Priebus.

“I look forward to getting this process underway and  gathering the input from the Debate Committee. I believe it is imperative we share the message of the Republican Party on a national stage in the most effective way possible so that all Americans can see the distinct differences between the two parties.”

Posted May 9, 2014

RNC Approves Debate Rule

NOTE: This does not go into effect for 30 days.

Proposed Amendment to Rule 10

Insert the following as section (h):
There shall be a Standing Committee on Presidential Primary Debates, which shall be composed of thirteen (13) members of the Republican National Committee, five (5) of whom shall be appointed by the Chairman of the Republican National Committee, and each of the four (4) regions shall elect two (2) members, one man and one woman, at its regional caucus at the RNC Summer Meeting in each even-numbered year in which no Presidential election is held. The chairman of the Republican National Committee shall appoint the chairman of the Standing Committee on Presidential Primary Debates from among the members thereof. The Standing Committee on Presidential Primary Debates shall have the authority to sanction debates on behalf of the Republican National Committee based on input from presidential campaigns and criteria which may include but are not limited to considerations of timing, frequency, format, media outlet, and the best interests of the Republican Party. Each debate sanctioned by the Standing Committee on Presidential Primary Debates shall be known as a “Sanctioned Debate.” Any presidential candidate who participates in any debate that is not a Sanctioned Debate shall not be eligible to participate in any further Sanctioned Debates.