February 5, 2015

Mike Rogers Launches APPS and Announces Iowa Leadership

Des Moines, IA  - On the heels of a new Des Moines Register Iowa Poll showing terrorism as the top issue of concern for Iowa Republicans, today, Mike Rogers, former Chairman of the House Intelligence Committee, announced the launch, and Iowa leadership of, Americans for Peace Prosperity and Security (APPS). APPS is a national initiative to focus attention on issues related to national security and strong American foreign policy by educating, identifying and mobilizing pro-national security citizens during the 2016 presidential caucuses and primaries.

“The need for strong American leadership at home and abroad has never been greater,” Rogers said. “The road to the White House starts in Iowa and that road must end with a President who embraces American exceptionalism and understands stability abroad brings prosperity at home. We can’t afford to get this wrong.”

"After ten years of service on the House Intelligence Committee, I have never seen the world more desperate for a Churchill, "victory at all costs" moment or a Roosevelt, "fear itself" moment or a Reagan, "tear down this wall" moment," Rogers continued. “The world cannot endure another eight years of weak American leadership, which is why this issue must be a priority not only for our next President, but also the citizens in the early states who have a vital role in determining who will be our next Commander-in-Chief.”

Rogers said the organization plans to play a significant role in shaping the 2016 debate. An important component will be the creation of volunteer leadership teams in the early presidential caucus and primary states to host local and regional forums focused on national security and global engagement. 

In announcing the first of these early state leadership teams, Rogers also said the organization is working with leading Iowa elected officials to hold a presidential candidate summit on national security in Iowa during the Fall of 2015.  The summit will be consistent with all Republican National Committee rules.

“Ensuring America remains a peaceful, prosperous and secure nation begins by choosing presidential nominees who share our philosophy that embraces the Reagan Doctrine of peace through strength,” said prominent Iowa conservative and Air Force veteran Dr. Sam Clovis, a co-chairman of APPS’s Iowa Advisory Board.

Joining Clovis on the Iowa Advisory Board is a broad-based group of leading Hawkeye state political, business, grassroots and former military leaders. 

APPS Board:

  • Honorary Chairman Mike Rogers
  • Andy Keiser, President
  • Kevin Madden, National Advisor
  • Matt Strawn, National Advisor
  • Pat McGlone, Vice President
  • Michelle Thomas, Board of Directors
  • Bob Honold, Strategist 
Iowa Advisory Board:

  • The Honorable Mike Rogers, Chairman, Americans for Peace Prosperity and Security and former Chairman of the U.S. House Intelligence Committee
  • Lt. General. Ron Dardis, former Adjutant General, Iowa National Guard (1999-2009) (Johnston)
  • Dr. Sam Clovis, retired Colonel, U.S. Air Force; 2014 Republican nominee for Iowa State Treasurer (Hinton)
  • Matt Strawn, former Chairman, Republican Party of Iowa (2009-2012) (Ankeny)
  • Adrienne Baughman, Forbs Export Services (Des Moines)
  • Judy Bissinger (Waukee)
  • Keith Caviness, Former Ottumwa City Councilman (Ottumwa)
  • Jeremy Davis, Former Ames City Councilman (Ames)
  • Andrew Dorr, Republican Leader (Urbandale)
  • Dr. Tom Gleason, M.D., USMC (ret.), (Boone) 
  • Cathy Grawe (Iowa City)
  • Harlan “Bud” Hockenberg, World War II Veteran; Chairman, Grassley Committee, Inc.; Past President, Jewish Federation of Greater Des Moines (West Des Moines)
  • Barb Hovland, Chairwoman, Cerro Gordo County GOP (Mason City)
  • Jon King, Conservative Leader (Guthrie Center)
  • Tracee Knapp, Chairwoman, Ringgold County GOP (Redding)
  • Jack Maples, Former Chairman, Jasper County GOP (Newton)
  • David Oman, Former Co-Chairman, Republican Party of Iowa; Finance Chairman, Joni Ernst for U.S. Senate (Des Moines)
  • Adam Otto, Jasper County GOP (Newton)
  • Kari Putney (Elgin)
  • Col. Al Ringgenberg (ret.),Council Bluffs City Councilman, (Council Bluffs)
  • Kayne Robinson, Former Chairman, Republican Party of Iowa (Marengo)
  • Nick Van Patten, Former Finance Chairman, Polk County GOP (Des Moines)
  • Laurence “Larry” and Irene Scherrman (Farley)
  • Rick Young, Jewell City Councilman (Jewell)
For more information visit PeaceProsperitySecurity.org.