p2016 header graphic

May 20, 2015

APPS Announces South Carolina Chapter, Advisory Board

COLUMBIA, SC - Today, Americans for Peace, Prosperity and Security (APPS), an organization formed to advance the national security debate, launched its South Carolina chapter.

APPS will host forums with presidential candidates and work to educate and motivate citizens on the importance of national security and foreign policy during the 2016 presidential race. Guiding these efforts will be the APPS South Carolina Advisory Board, comprised of respected leaders from across the state (full list below).

After successful launches in Iowa in February and New Hampshire in March, APPS looks to replicate its efforts here in the first-in-the-South primary state. APPS has already held in-depth national security forums in New Hampshire with Carly Fiorina and in Iowa with Governor Rick Perry.  The South Carolina chapter of APPS is eager to bring these policy forums to the Palmetto State early this summer.

Honorary Chairman Mike Rogers said: "Educating citizens in the early primary state of South Carolina on national security and foreign policy issues is crucial to ensuring our next president will be prepared to keep America strong and secure for generations to come."

APPS and Honorary Chairman Mike Rogers will remain neutral during the presidential election and will not endorse any candidate.

Maj. Ted Fienning (USMC, Reserve), a member of the APPS South Carolina advisory board, added, "This is an opportunity for South Carolinians to play a large part in shaping the national security conversation for the next president, and I and the rest of the South Carolina Advisory Board are happy to be a part of APPS."

APPS South Carolina Advisory Board
  • Jonathan Hoffman, APPS State Executive Director; Captain, USAF Reserve; Former Director, Border Security Policy at the White House - Charleston
  • Meka Childs, Former Deputy Superintendent; South Carolina Department of Education - Saluda
  • Shannon Erickson, SC State Representative (District 124) - Beaufort
  • Ted Fienning, Major, USMC Reserve; Founder, Babiators - Charleston
  • James Galyean, Member, Nexsen Pruet; Former Chief Counsel, United States Senate - Anderson
  • Van Hipp, Jr., Chairman, American Defense International, Inc.; Former Chairman, South Carolina Republican Party - Pawley's Island
  • James Livingston, Maj. General, USMC, Retired; Medal of Honor Recipient - Mount Pleasant
  • Leighton Lord, Member, Nexsen Pruet; Chairman, Santee Cooper - Columbia
  • Glenn McCall, Senior Master Sergeant, USAF, Retired; National Committeeman, Republican National Committee - Rock Hill
  • Sue Myrick, Former Congresswoman, NC-9 - Seabrook Island
  • Brent Nelsen, Ph.D., Professor, Furman University; Chairman, South Carolina ETV - Greenville
  • Mick Zais, Brig. General, US Army, Retired; Former Superintendent, South Carolina Department of Education - Columbia