17 City Officials Named to 2016 Presidential Election Task Force

WASHINGTON, March 8, 2015 /PRNewswire-USNewswire/ -- As the nation prepares for the 2016 election cycle, National League of Cities President Ralph Becker, mayor, Salt Lake City, Utah, named a bipartisan group of 17 city officials and state municipal league executive directors to serve on the National League of Cities (NLC) 2016 Presidential Election Task Force. With the goal of raising the visibility of city issues during the presidential election cycle, the task force will develop an actionable plan that includes tools and resources for NLC members to engage candidates on city issues. The announcement was made at the 50th annual Congressional City Conference, which convenes 2,000 city officials and delegates to advocate for city priorities with Congress and the Administration.

In addition to raising the visibility of NLC and city issues, the task force aims to position NLC as the "go to" resource on city issues with campaign staff during the election. This includes educating the candidates and their campaign staffs on what cities expect from a new Administration and the types of federal partnerships that will help cities thrive.

"More than 80 percent of Americans live in urban areas and it is imperative that the issues cities face be at the forefront in the 2016 presidential election," said National League of Cities President Ralph Becker, mayor, Salt Lake City, Utah. "Our goal is to ensure that future Administrations understand the needs of America's cities and support the policies and partnerships that enable cities, and the nation, grow and prosper."

During its initial planning meeting, which will take place this week during NLC's Congressional City Conference in Washington, D.C., the task force will begin developing a plan of action for the organization and its members by considering policy issues for a city platform and engagement strategies. The task force will then lead NLC's participation at both national political conventions, and in the transition to the next administration.

2016 Presidential Election Task Force Members

  • Karen Freeman-Wilson, mayor, Gary, Ind., Task Force Co-Chair
  • Betsy Price, mayor, Fort Worth, Texas, Task Force Co-Chair
  • Pedro Segarra, mayor, Hartford, Conn., Task Force Co-Chair
  • Dan Gilmartin, executive director, Michigan Municipal League
  • Alan Kemp, executive director, Iowa League of Cities
  • Kevin Kramer, councilmember, Louisville, Ky.
  • Dot LaMarche, vice mayor, Farragut, Tenn.
  • Cindy Lerner, mayor, Pinecrest, Fla.
  • Sam Mamet, director, Colorado Municipal League
  • Paul Meyer, executive director, North Carolina League of Municipalities
  • Bill Peduto, mayor, Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • David Sander, vice mayor, Rancho Cordova, Calif.
  • Judy Silva, executive director, New Hampshire Municipal Association
  • Mike Sittig, executive director, Florida League of Cities
  • Craig Thurmond, mayor, Broken Arrow, Okla.
  • Randal Wallace, councilmember, Myrtle Beach, S.C.
  • Nan Whaley, mayor, Dayton, Ohio

The National League of Cities (NLC) is dedicated to helping city leaders build better communities. NLC is a resource and advocate for 19,000 cities, towns and villages, representing more than 218 million Americans.