Congressional Leadership - 2013-14

Speaker John Boehner (R) and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D) in the House and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid (D) and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R) are key faces of their respective parties in the 113th Congress. Effective congressional leadership requires a particular temperament and set of skills. Speaker Boehner has said that his experience working in his father's bar helped give him the skills to do the job. "I mopped floors. I cleaned dishes. I waited tables. I tended bar...You have to learn to deal with every character that walks in the door."

  2015-16 Edition  |  2013-14 Edition  | 2011-12 Edition  |  2010 Edition

House >

to July 31, 2014
Speaker - John Boehner (OH)*     twitter

Majority Leader - Eric Cantor (VA)*     twitter
Majority Whip - Kevin McCarthy (CA)*    twitter

Chair, Republican Conference - Cathy McMorris Rodgers (WA)*     twitter

NRCC Chairman - Greg Walden (OR)

Chair, Republican Policy Committee - James Lankford (OK)*    twitter

Conference Vice-Chair - Lynn Jenkins (KS)

Conference Secretary - Virginia Foxx (NC)
Sophomore Representative - Tim Scott (SC)
Freshman Representative - Ann Wagner (MO)
Rules Committee Chairman - Pete Sessions (TX)

Republican Study Committee     twitter

Minority Leader - Nancy Pelosi (CA)*     twitter

Minority Whip - Steny H. Hoyer (MD)*     twitter

Assistant Leader - James Clyburn (SC)*     twitter

Democratic Caucus     twitter

Chair - Xavier Becerra (CA)
Vice Chair - Joe Crowley (CT)

DCCC Chairman - Steve Israel (NY)

Democratic Steering and Policy Committee

Co-Chair - Rosa DeLauro (CT)
Co-Chair - George Miller (CA)
In March 2014 Pelosi named Miller to succeed Rep. Rob Andrews (NJ), who resigned in February.


Progressive Caucus    twitter

New Democrat Coalition    twitter
Blue Dog Coalition     twitter

        from Aug. 1, 2014

Rep. Eric Cantor (VA) served as Majority Leader starting in Jan. 2011, and was seen as a possible next Speaker.  However in a major upset Cantor lost his June 10, 2014 Republican primary to Dave Brat.  On June 11 he announced that he would resign his leadership position effective July 31.  On June 19 House Republicans elected Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy (CA) as the next Majority Leader over Rep. Raul Labrador (ID), and Rep. Steve Scalise (LA) defeated Rep. Peter Roskam (IL) and Rep. Marlin Stutzman (IN) to ascend to Majority Whip.  Rep. Rob Woodall (GA) succeeded Scalise as chairman of the Republican Study Committee for the rest of the 113th Congress.

Senate >

Senate Republicans     twitter
Minority Leader - Mitch McConnell (KY)

Minority Whip - John Cornyn (TX)

Chair, Senate Republican Conference - John Thune (SD)*    
Chair, Republican Policy Committee - John Barrasso (WY)*     twitter

Vice Chair, Senate Republican Conference - Roy Blunt (MO)

Senate Democrats     twitter
Majority Leader - Harry Reid (NV)

[President Pro Tem - Patrick Leahy (VT)]
Assistant Majority Leader - Dick Durbin (IL)

Vice Chair of the Conference and Chair of the Democratic Policy Committee - Charles E. Schumer (NY)

Secretary of the Conference - Patty Murray (WA)

Vice Chair of the Democratic Policy Committee - Debbie Stabenow (MI)
Chair, Steering and Outreach Committee - Mark Begich (AK)*

. .

*leadership page