May 13, 2016

Sanders’ California Campaign Announces Southern California People-Powered Steering Committee

U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders’ campaign announced on Friday the formation of its Southern California steering committee. Made up of a diverse coalition of elected officials, organizational leaders and grassroots activists, the people-powered group has been mobilizing thousands of voters in the area and has been laying the groundwork for a Sanders victory in the state on June 7.

Former Los Angeles city councilman Bob Farrell and current Los Angeles city councilman Gil Cedillo will co-chair the Southern California steering committee.

Below is a full list of committee members:

Alan David Arian — Ret. ILWU International President

Alfonso Morales — City of Lynwood, School Board Member

Andres Ramos — City of Compton, College Trustee

Angie Amezcua — City of Santa Ana, Council Member

Bao Nguyen — City of Garden Grove, Mayor

Briseida Gonzalez — Lynwood Unfiied School Board, School Board Member

Chris Newman — Immigration Attorney

Daraka Larimore-Hall — California Democratic Party, Secretary

David Benavides — City of Santa Ana, Council Member

Dr. Henry “Hank” Hendricks — Coalition of Black School Board Members, Former President

Dr. Jose Moreno — Ret. Anaheim City School District, Ret. School Board Member

Gabriela Camacho — City of Lynwood, Treasurer

Gil Cedillo — City of Los Angeles, Council Member*

Gloria Ramos — Centinela Valley Unified High School District, School Board Member

Heather Kim — Koreans for Bernie, Co-Founder

Iyad Afalqa — California Democratic Party, Arab American Caucus Chair

Jacquelyn M. Horton — Community Advocate

Jay Chen — Mount San Antonio College Board of Trustees, Board Member

Karina Marcias — City of Huntington Park, Mayor

Marilyn Sanbira — City of Huntington Park, Council Member

Oscar de la Torre — Santa Monica School Board, School Board Member

Pastor Jawane Hilton — City of Carson, Council Member

Robert Farrell — Ret. Los Angeles Council member, (Ret.) of DNC Executive Committee, Ret. Council Member*

Robert Samuels — California American Federation of Teachers, President

Roman Reyna — City of Santa Ana, Council Member

Russell Greene — California Democratic Party, Executive Board Member

Salvador Tinajero — City of Santa Ana, Council Member

*denotes steering committee chair